Dry January

It’s here! It is officially 2014 – I hope everyone had a fabulous new year’s eve and I wish you all a happy and prosperous year. I am not a big drinker to begin with, at the very most I drink two glasses of wine a week however I often go weeks without touching a drop. I am extremely interested in addiction and addictive behaviour and volunteer as a group facilitator for an independent charity supporting individuals to gain recovery from substance misuse. As soon as I heard about Dry January (via a television advert) I was keen to get involved.

http://www.dryjanuary.org.uk/
Above is the link to the official website – somewhere which will explain the concept far better than I am able to – I urge anyone reading to have look and then come back to continue reading!

I can find a number of reasons to get involved with Dry January but none at all for abstaining. One of these reasons is to save the cash! After all Christmas seems to eat away at a lot of peoples budgets and everyone seems to be reigning in the spending come January. Others may be concerned about all the food they put away over the festive period and alcohol certainly isn’t kind to the waistline, with a large glass of wine containing around 200 calories! Of course these are reasons that many of us are choosing to do for the 31 days of Dry January (or longer if you choose to do so) however many more won’t be taking this decision so lightly. I am a real advocate for discussing drug and alcohol issues but for or some reason many see it as a taboo subject. Through my studies, my voluntary work as a group facilitator, my role as a mentor to those having served a sentence of 12 months or less, previous work and personal experience I have seen the devastation that alcohol can cause to individuals and their families. It saddens me that it is such a prominent recurring theme amongst those involved in the criminal justice system.

Dry January is going to help raise money for Alcohol Concern (if you can’t already tell by this post it is something which I think is much needed and a charity which I fully support) and, as explained on the website, you can set up a just giving page in order to raise funds. As mentioned above many are feeling the pinch after Christmas and so if you don’t feel comfortable asking those around you to sponsor you go dry for 31 days you could always put away the cash that you would of spent on alcohol and donate yourself at the end of the month or purchase a t-shirt or mug from the Dry January eBay page – something I should admit now is that I have a slight obsession with mugs and so I will be hoping to get my hands on one of them!

I would love to hear from others involved in Dry January! Good luck to anyone else involved and to everyone reading let’s have a great 2014!

2 thoughts on “Dry January

  1. Well done you for getting involved! Cancer Research UK do something similar with their ‘Dryathalon’ for January. That’s the one I’m involved with as just the first of a number of challenges I’ll be undertaking this year for Cancer Research UK. As a criminology graduate with an interest is this area had I seen ‘Dry January’ first I probably would have done this one for Alcohol Concern.
    Hope you do have a great 2014!

    1. Thank you! I haven’t heard of ‘Dryathlon’ – will definitely check it out though. Good on you for getting involved with Cancer Research – if you blog at all about any of the challenges I will be following 🙂

Leave a Reply

