A Weeks Worth of Work

Although I have shared some thoughts around DSE212, Exploring Psychology, I haven’t yet discussed the work load and a standard weeks work for the module. However this post will change that. We are now onto week 8 which is made up of 6 sections, each with a box on the study planner which can be ticked off once completed – ticking these boxes is very satisfying for me!
I don’t always work my way down from the top, for instance if I have 45 minutes available to me in the morning I might watch a DVD clip or listen to some of the audio material instead of getting my books out. I do the majority of my reading when I have a morning or a day dedicated to studying as I retain information I have read the best early on in the day.

20131125103612931

So, week 8 for DSE212 consists of:
Week 8 of the Study Guide
The study guide provides an overview of what will be covered in a particular week. It provides you with the learning outcomes, guides you through the additional study and provides you with the key terms correlating with each chapter which need to be learned and understood in preparation for the exam in June 2014. For week 8 the key terms relating to chapter 4 are:
Neurotransmitter
Phenotype
Genotype
Action potential
Brain lesions

Chapter 4, Biological processes and psychological explanations
Next on the agenda is to read chapter 4 which is biology based – slightly scary! I have read the intro and it does ease you in gently!

Commentary 4
At the end of each chapter of the DSE212 text books there is a commentary which I have found extremely beneficial in consolidating what we have covered. It is only a few pages long but acts as a fantastic summary – I tend to read these before starting the chapter as they indicate areas which you need to focus on in greater detail.

Workbook Study, Week 8
The online workbook for DSE212 provides you with a few activities a week which have been of great benefit to me. Sometimes they will revolve around the subject matter – one of the activities for this week provides you with biological terms and then definitions and it asks you to match them up – whilst other activities focus on academic skills such as essay writing, note taking, referencing etc. They are broken down into small chunks and so I find it best to them separately rather than all in one sitting. The workbook activities are great if you only have a small amount of time.

Online Activity 5: Understanding neurons and synapses
This is a whole activity dedicated to how information is transmitted by the nervous system. I can’t reveal much more as I haven’t completed this yet!

DVD – Brain Scanning
Finally for week 8 there is a DVD clip to watch regarding brain scanning. I have found all the DVD’s provided by the Open University to be of great quality. They are never so long that you switch of but make such a great change from all the reading!

20131125103702918

So that’s an example of a week’s worth of work for DSE212, I am still enjoying this module although becoming increasingly nervous that in January effectively my workload will double as I begin DD307, Social Psychology!

20131125_103508

Would love to hear other’s study tips and agendas
Sophie 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Weeks Worth of Work

  1. That was a really interesting look at what i should be doing in the future. I cant wait now. I love the tip about reading the conclusion first, that is a really useful tip.

    I myself like to take really brief shorthand notes (even using text speak and symbols) and then when typing up my notes i try to bulk them out a bit which forces me to remember what i had read in the first place.

    Another thing i do i to use the Cornell System of note taking which has a small column on the left and a main section on the right. On the right hand side i put my notes and on the left i put keywords and any questions i have to make revising easier.

  2. I used to use the Cornell system but changed things up a little for my 2 psychology modules – finding there is a lot more information to take in so have been colour coding notes and doing numerous ‘spider diagrams’ for specific topics/ideas.

    Great idea about the shorthand notes and bulking up from memory, will give that a go!
    Sophie

Leave a Reply

