An Introduction to Jung’s Psychology

Frieda Fordham’s ‘Introduction to Jung’s Psychology’

20130913154212455

The work for DSE212 is really kicking in now and so I have been kept very busy with reading material, tutorials, essay prep and activities and so I thought I would just post quickly about the main points I took away from Frieda Fordham’s Introduction to Jung’s Psychology. Although not applicable to the areas of psychology I am currently studying I had taken time to read this brief introduction. This is the first book I have read solely focusing on Jung’s ideas and theories and was aware that his work can be quite complex and heavy going. Although only a very short introduction I would agree with this and many areas I needed to read twice in order to grasp certain concepts. I found the writing style to be good and the book flowed well however I am tempted to purchase a second introduction to Jung so that I can see how that compares. At this point I couldn’t recommend this over another book as Jung’s theories are very new to myself. This is intended to be a brief post (as I should currently be reading the BPS code of ethics and conduct!) so I will insert a few bullet points I made upon completion of the book,

• Based on Jung’s own experience with humans
• Psyche – Mind
Psychic – Mental
• The conscious mind ‘grows an unconscious mind which is older than it and hoes on functioning with it.’
• Jung calls movement which satisfies demands of the conscious – Progression.
and that which satisfies the unconscious – Regression
• The personal unconscious includes repressed tendencies
• Adopt characteristics of the role you are in e.g. business people try to be professional, wives try to be motherly, vicars wives try to be chirpy
• Your ‘shadow’ is part of your personality i.e. when you say ‘I don’t know what came over me’
• More restrictive society we live in the larger your ‘shadow’ is
• Personal unconscious formed from repressed infantile impulses & wishes, subliminal perceptions and countless forgotten experiences
When repression weakens these may be recalled e.g. during sleep
Sometimes they return of their own accord
Sometimes they are disguised as fantasies
• The brain has been shaped and influenced by remote experiences of man kind
• Unconscious may become ‘over-charged’ and seek to find some outlet. The unconscious may then leak through into the conscious as fantasy or some neurotic symptom. It may even overwhelm consciousness and a violent outburst will occur or psychosis may develop.
• ‘Shadow’ or your unconscious may find some way of living with your dark side
• Dreams are natural and spontaneous products of the mind (psyche) and are worth taking seriously

Apologies for the rushed post but I hope something is better than nothing, thanks for reading and let me know how you feel about Jung and psychology!

Sophie

4 thoughts on “An Introduction to Jung’s Psychology

    1. It covered it briefly however I didn’t find it as helpful or explanatory as some journals and articles I have and so didn’t include it in my notes. Very keen for recommendations of other Jung books as I would like a comparison.

Leave a Reply

