An End of August Update

I wanted to share a brief update and keep a written record for myself (as I am terrible at saying I am going to do something and then never doing it!) regarding changes in my voluntary commitments and how I am going to manage my time when I start the final year of my degree on the 5th October.
The project which I volunteer for as a mentor to male offenders upon release from HMP Durham have been asked to get involved in creating and delivering a short course to 16 – 17 year old NEETs who are in contact with a local YOT. I have been given the opportunity to get involved in this which I am very much looking forward to, although slightly nervous! I am a firm believer that you CAN do everything that you want to do, you just have to be extremely frugal when it comes to time management, and so I have been having a slightly re-think about how to fit in work, university, volunteering and the rest of my ‘normal’ life which also includes a lively Labrador and a hungry horse.

photo (84)

Rather than attending the group sessions with the organisation I volunteer for regarding substance misuse every week, from October I am going to attend on a fortnightly basis. Alongside this I am going to team up with another mentor regarding the ex-offender scheme meaning that I have a little extra help when it comes to sourcing info, arranging appointments etc. and that should leave me with a little more flexibility when new opportunities arise.
I am very passionate about all the voluntary work I do however for the final year of my degree I want to give it everything I have got and so I want to make sure I am dedicating the majority of my time to this as after 3 years I do not want to let things slip in my fourth and final year whilst still maintaining my voluntary roles (and paid work of course!)

20130905_080014

I would be really keen to hear other people’s experience of volunteer roles (or of time managing!) Sophie

2 thoughts on “An End of August Update

  1. It’s so hard trying to figure out which things you should let go… This year is my final year too, and I’ll be doing two modules, on top of working 40 hours a week, pimping my new house, taking numerous art courses, trying to keep a blog and attempting a social life. I really wanted to get involve with this voluntary art therapy programme too, but I just don’t think I’ll be able to this year. I just need to remember that my last year has to be my number one priority for now; next summer I can get stuck into a thousand other projects if I want to, but at the moment I need to force myself to start saying no!

    1. Wow that all sounds amazing, I feel your pain though! I need to keep reminding myself that it would be so easy to let things slip in my final year and I don’t want that to happen. Hats off to you, I am mega busy but I don’t work a 40 hour week so I can be more flexible. I don’t know much about art therapy but it sounds really intriguing. Sounds like we both need to learn to say no!!

Leave a Reply

