Food Glorious Food!

Of the puppy variety!
When I got my chocolate lab, Rolo, I was well aware of the typical greedy nature of labs and so even before I got him I was thinking hard about what I wanted to feed him. 
When I picked him up and brought him home, of course, I kept him on the puppy feed he was used to. He was fed on a very popular middle of the range brand which I would soak in boiling water and make into a mush. He was having 4 meals a day, 6am, 11.30am, 3.30pm and 7.30pm .

After his first set of injections I then began reducing the softness of his food. I then began the process to introduce the new feed I had chosen. After long discussions with many other dog owners, friends and vets I decided to go with Hills Science Plan. At the age of 12 weeks he was solely on the Science plan and reduced to 3 meals a day – 6am, 12 noon, 6pm (much easier to manage!) 
Image
So far I am extremely impressed with the Science Plan food. I have noticed Rolo eating his food slower – which is hard to find in a lab! He is much calmer and less nippy, which is partly down to him ageing but his diet certainly plays a part in this too. And he doesn’t greed at all which is a problem I was experiencing with the original feed, around an hour or so before he was due another feed he would whine and not settle running to and from the kitchen. 

All in all I would say that I am extremely impressed. I will be keeping Rolo on this particular food for the foreseeable future however I will be open to any suggest suggestions, especially when he gets 6 months and 12 months +.

I also purchased Rolo a go slow feed bowl which has worked wonders and I highly recommend this product to anyone who has a greedy dog. It completely stopped Rolo getting the hiccups after every meal!
Image

Image

I would be very keen to hear about your feeding regimes with your dogs 🙂
https://twitter.com/Sophies_Words

Leave a Reply

